Clumsy is as Clumsy Does

I made my first ever tiramisu on Saturday for my aunt’s little gathering. Based on my dad’s trusty recipe (30 years of experience can’t be wrong!  🙂 ), it was a gorgeous cake with brandy-expresso soaked sponge, sandwiching rich mascarpone cream, topped with a generous sifting of Valrhona cocoa powder. A great symphony, may I say so myself, of bitter and sweet. It’s sinfully rich, yet meltingly light at the same time. Truly addictive, even for someone like me who’d never ever go near a coffee-flavoured cake.

At 6 in the evening, I was putting the finishing touches to my tiramisu, attaching a ring of fluffy sponge fingers to the side of the cake and tying a lovely magenta organza ribbon around it.

Perfect, I smiled to myself. Wait, maybe not… Not quite, I reckoned. I thought a simple chocolate putty rose or two would elevate the cake into the realms of edible elegance.

I mentioned to my helper to clear some fridge space for the cake, while I would proceed to work on the chocolate roses. As I passed the 7-inch tiramisu to her, the cake somehow, somehow, slipped from my grasp and crashed right onto the floor!

I let out a high-pitched scream, watching my masterpiece land unceremoniously on the floor. Much to my amusement, Rui who was playing with CH in the living hall, imitated my scream. I wasn’t sure whether I should laugh or cry. Hours of work was now reduced to a messy, unrecognisable pile in front of the fridge.

I laughed.

Anyway.

No use crying over fallen tiramisu.

The good thing that came out of the fiasco?

I now know that it is POSSIBLE to construct a tiramisu – from scratch – in 2 hours flat, including the chilling time, as I delivered the finshed product (my second masterpiece  😉  ) at 8.30pm that evening.

PS: No picture as I was too flustered, as I usually am when I anticipate to deliver something. Anything.

Leave a Reply

